The Bedtime of a jobseeking Mum-to-be

‘Bedtime’ is the current buzzword in our household, with a seven month old that still isn’t sleeping it seems to be all we can talk about.

So I was amused that my first ‘blogging tag’ has come in the form of the Bedtime Tag.

Many thanks to my ‘local rival’ Left Back At Home for nominating me, I enjoyed reading yours.

In the interest of following on with my story about being made redundant and then looking for work whilst I was pregnant, I thought I’d take a different approach to this.

My bedtime questions have been written as they would have been answered a year ago, when I was a jobseeking Mum-to-be.

 

  1. Describe your usual bedtime routine?

My boyfriend Luke and I will have dinner together and then watch some TV, usually ‘Britain on Benefits’ or some such cultural thriller.

Then he will head off to bed at around 10pm while I continue watching anything that is on, just to keep my mind occupied because I know if I go to bed, I won’t sleep.

Some nights are different, there might be an application that I want to get done so I’ll be up until the early hours making sure that is perfect.

 

Picture1
My favourite pyjamas… non-alcoholic champagne an optional bonus.

 

  1. What are your favourite pyjamas?

My best friend bought me a pair of baggy, ‘boyfriend’ pyjama bottoms that I love to lay around in.

They’re perfect for days on the sofa and, if I’m honest, I’ll only get out of them if I have to visit someone about a job.

If they’re dirty, I steal my boyfriend’s actual pyjama bottoms, they do the same thing.

 

  1. What is your favourite bedtime reading?

Generally the same as during the day, I will be flicking through job adverts to see if there are any I want to apply for.

If I’ve exhausted all those options though I will turn to Cecelia Ahern’s ‘The Year I Met You’.

It’s about a girl who was made redundant and how she rebuilds her life after being forced to have some time off.

I find it inspirational, it’s like it was written for me!

 

  1. What would I find on your bedside table?

There is my book and a couple of magazines (Take A Break, That’s Life, anything to take my mind off things).

Lots of tissues because my allergies have gone crazy since I fell pregnant and obviously I can’t take any tablets.

A tub of biscuits for the early hour wake ups.

And the picture from the first scan of our baby.

 

  1. What scents make you sleepy?

I’m not sure there is anything, my Mum has recommended lavender to help me relax with all that’s going on but I haven’t tried it yet.

 IMG_i4558a

  1. What is your usual bed time and wake-up time?

I don’t have one at the moment and that’s probably not good for my concentration levels during the day.

I go to sleep when I’m tired, but that’s often not until very late, and I wake up whenever I wake up, but that’s often very late too.

Having said that, I get annoyed if I miss Jeremy Kyle, so 9:20 at the latest.

 

  1. What are your top 3 bedtime products?

I’m horrendous at having any kind of cleansing routine before bed.

I don’t wear make-up at the moment, because I have no need to whilst at home all day.

Nor do I don’t any creams, something I’m sure will come back to haunt me in the sleepless nights of my next twelve months.

 

  1. What is your most common sleeping position?

I have to sleep on my left hand side, my baby bump isn’t showing yet but it is already very uncomfortable for me to lay on my back and I daren’t lay on my front because I don’t want to hurt the baby (I know, I’m being silly).

I’ve already started wedging myself up with my maternity pillow because it’s so comfy, I might keep using it after I’ve had the baby!

 

  1. Do you have anything you like to take to bed with you?

I still have the teddy bear that my grandparents gave me when I was just a few weeks old, he is a constant comfort for me when I’m feeling low or scared.

People ask if I will give him to the baby but I just laugh – JoJo will still be sharing a bed with me when the baby is a teenager!

 

  1. What is your worse bedtime habit?

Worrying.

When I’m laid in bed at night I stare out of the window, watching the lights on the cars driving past and I just ‘think’, for hours.

I think about the day I was made redundant, I think about the jobs I’ve not heard back from, I think about how on earth I’m going to find a job in time before I am too far along in this pregnancy.

Bedtimes tend to drag for me.

 

I hope you enjoyed reading this, I now nominate my #BloggerBootcamp buddies:

Mama Mei

Messy Cook

Louise Rose

Leave a Reply

